Together

If there ever is a word that can encompass what it means to be in a choir (and there are many other words I’m sure), that word would be “Together”. I know that sounds somewhat obvious and simplistic, but never underestimate this word. It is easier said (or written) than done. After being in SYC Ensemble Singers for 6 years, I can definitely attest to the fact that being ‘together’ is more than meets the eye.

Singing in a choir is about singing together. but what does that mean? Does it mean singing the same pitch, the same word, or the same dynamic with other people? Does it mean breathing at the same spots, inflecting at the same points of each phrase, and ending each word the same way? Or does it mean having the same tone, the same vowel sound, and the same resonance?

At times, I feel like the more I understand the concept of “Together”, the less I get it as well (I know it sounds contradictory…hear me out). Singing as a collective seems to be a constant process, of listening, of adjusting, of feeling. Whenever I figure out a way for me to sing together with my fellow choristers, I realise more things that need attention. It seems to me like an unending cycle of figuring things out, and of stretching our senses to understand the experience of singing.

As we prepare for our 50th Anniversary pre-tour concert ‘This Song of Mine’, I find myself going through the process of learning (and re-learning) what it means to sing together, so that we can sing the songs of Chinese tribes;so that we can bring forth the stillness of the lake; so that we can re-create sounds of the Basque country; so that our hearts can “break with pride”, and your hearts will be transported to “the verge of the unknown”.

So what does it mean to sing ‘together’? Well, the most important thing is to find out…together.

– Delin –

Leave a Reply

